Since its global inception in September 2006, the Open Forum on Agricultural Biotechnology (OFAB) continues to enhance knowledge-sharing and awareness on agricultural biotechnology in Africa and facilitates quality engagement on safety and benefits of modern agricultural biotechnology among stakeholders.

The forum, which is a collaboration between African Agricultural Technology Foundation (AATF) and other like-minded organizations, is implemented at country-level mostly through government bodies forming OFAB chapters serving as OFAB secretariat in these countries.

Currently, OFAB is operational in seven countries namely; Kenya, Uganda, Tanzania, Ethiopia, Nigeria, Ghana and Burkina Faso.


As part of activities marking the 10th anniversary of OFAB,

the Nigerian Chapter is happy to announce the maiden edition of OFAB Nigeria Media Award and Dinner to celebrate and reward outstanding biosciences reporting.

The yearly award which seeks to promote excellence in agricultural biotechnology journalism is open to all print and broadcast journalists who publish/broadcast stories on Biotechnology, Biosafety, Agriculture, Genetics, etc.

The categories and prizes are as follows:

Over-all winners: Plaque, Laptop and $500,

Best Print: Plaque, Tablet and Digital Voice Recorder,

Best TV: Plaque and Camcorder 

Best Radio: Plaque, Tablet and Digital Voice Recorder

In addition to the prizes, all winners will be sponsored to participate in the 10th OFAB Anniversary Congress schedule for September 2017 in Kampala, Uganda.

The winning story will be entered for the 2017 AATF/OFAB African Agricultural Biosciences Journalists Award scheduled for September in Nairobi, Kenya.

The award ceremony holds at the August edition of OFAB round table for media scheduled for August 29th, 2017


* The award is open to ALL science journalists in Nigeria, in the broadcast (television, radio, and online) and print media

* The entry should be a story published or aired between July 1st 2016 and June 31st 2017

* Only one entry is allowed per applicant


  1. Deadline for submission of entries is July 14 2017
  2.  Entries for the Print category should consist of a scanned copy of the original story (in PDF format) without any alteration to the content of the story published. Applicants should ensure that their PDF documents are clear and sharp. Entries with blurred documents would not be considered.
  3. Online journalists’ entries should include a clearly written and hyperlinked URL address. Screenshots of websites where stories are published are not accepted.
  4. TV entries should be uploaded to YouTube (www.youtube.com) and radio pieces to SoundCloud (www.soundcloud.com). Applicants should provide the web links to their uploaded stories in the entry form.
  5. Each applicant is expected to provide a synopsis to the story submitted, 150-word biography, and a 200-word piece explaining the motivation for the story on a separate sheet.


  1. Any alteration to the original story nullifies the entry.


  1. All entries and accompanying documents should be submitted by email to info@ofabnigeria.com or ofabmediaawards@gmail.com


Click here to start this application

For further enquires, please contact the following members of the award committee:

Dr. Rose Gidado,

Country Coordinator,

OFAB Nigeria & Assistant Director, NABDA.



Abu Umaru,

Communication and Partnership Officer,

AATF West Africa,


Alex Abutu,

Communication Expert

PBS, Nigeria


Aisha Umar

Communication Officer,

OFAB, Nigeria & Principal Information Officer, NABDA